Gabble vs VoiceInk: local Mac dictation compared
Of all the apps we compare Gabble with, VoiceInk is the closest. Both are Mac dictation apps for Apple Silicon. Both run Whisper and Parakeet models on the machine. Both have a personal dictionary, per-app settings and optional AI cleanup that sends text, never audio. If you like one, you would probably be fine with the other.
The real differences are licence, price and maturity.
At a glance
| Gabble | VoiceInk | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free | From $25 one-time for one Mac (as of October 2026). Free if you build it from source |
| Where speech is processed | On your Mac | On your Mac by default. Cloud transcription is opt-in |
| Account needed | No | Not stated |
| Platforms | macOS 14 or later, Apple Silicon only | macOS, Apple Silicon |
| AI cleanup | Optional, off by default. Ollama, or your own Anthropic or OpenAI-compatible key | Optional "AI Enhancement" with a range of cloud providers |
| Custom dictionary | Yes | Yes |
| File transcription | Yes | Not stated |
| Open source | No | Yes, GPL v3 |
VoiceInk details come from tryvoiceink.com, its privacy page and its GitHub repository.
Where VoiceInk is the better choice
You want to read the code. VoiceInk is licensed under GNU GPL v3. You can check exactly what it does with your audio, build it yourself, and fork it. Gabble is closed source for now. For a privacy tool, that is a serious point in VoiceInk's favour and we are not going to pretend otherwise.
You want a more established app. VoiceInk is past version 2 and ships releases regularly. Gabble is at 0.1. Expect more rough edges in Gabble.
You want support you have paid for. The paid VoiceInk build comes with automatic updates and priority support by Discord and email, plus lifetime updates and a 14-day money-back guarantee. Gabble is free and comes with no support promise.
You want more AI providers. VoiceInk's privacy page lists OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini, Groq, Mistral, Deepgram, ElevenLabs and others. Gabble supports Ollama, Anthropic and OpenAI-compatible endpoints.
You want cloud transcription as an option. VoiceInk lets you opt in to sending audio to a provider of your choice. Gabble has no such option.
You want its extra model or assistant. VoiceInk includes SenseVoice Small alongside Whisper and Parakeet, and it has a built-in voice assistant mode. Gabble has neither.
Where Gabble is the better choice
You want a free app without opening Xcode. VoiceInk is free only if you build it from source. The convenient build costs money. Gabble is a free DMG.
You want Ollama for cleanup. Gabble supports Ollama on the same Mac, which keeps both transcription and rewriting local. We could not confirm from VoiceInk's pages whether it supports Ollama, so check its current docs.
You transcribe the occasional file. Drop an audio or video file on Gabble to get a transcript. We did not find file transcription described on the VoiceInk pages we read.
You want voice editing. Gabble's command mode rewrites selected text: hold Shift with the dictation key and say "make this shorter". It needs AI cleanup switched on.
You are on macOS 14. Gabble needs macOS 14 or later. VoiceInk's website says macOS 14.4 or later while its README says macOS 15.0 or later, so confirm before you buy if you are on an older system.
That list is shorter than the one above, and several items on it are "we could not confirm" rather than "VoiceInk cannot". That is an honest picture of how close these two are.
What they share
- Local Whisper and Parakeet models. VoiceInk runs Whisper through whisper.cpp and Parakeet through FluidAudio. Gabble runs Whisper through WhisperKit and Parakeet through FluidAudio.
- A personal dictionary.
- Text expansion by voice. VoiceInk calls it Smart Replace. Gabble has "heard as" replacements and voice snippets.
- Per-app behaviour. VoiceInk calls it Power Mode. Gabble has per-app rules that choose a mode.
- Apple Silicon only, Mac only. Neither has a Windows or Android version.
How do they compare on privacy?
VoiceInk's privacy page says its apps do not collect or transmit transcription data when you use local processing. If you opt in to cloud transcription, your audio file goes to the provider you picked. If you use AI Enhancement, only the transcribed text is sent, never audio.
Gabble works the same way for cleanup: text only, to the provider you chose, or nowhere if you use Ollama. It has no cloud transcription at all. Audio is held in memory and never written to disk. History is local JSON with retention you control, and API keys live in the macOS Keychain.
The difference is verification. VoiceInk's claims can be checked in its source. Gabble's cannot yet.
What do they cost?
Gabble is free.
VoiceInk, as of October 2026, from tryvoiceink.com:
- Solo: $25 one-time, 1 Mac.
- Personal: $39 one-time, 2 Macs.
- Extended: $49 one-time, 3 Macs.
All include lifetime updates and a 14-day money-back guarantee, and there is a free trial. These were the prices shown when we checked. They may reflect a promotion, so look at the site for the current figures. Building from source is free.
Verdict
If open source matters to you, choose VoiceInk. You get auditable code, a mature app and a fair one-time price that supports an independent developer.
If you want to pay nothing and skip the build step, download Gabble. You get a similar core with Ollama support, file transcription and a command mode, in a younger app whose source you cannot read yet.
See also Gabble vs OpenWhispr for the other open source option, or the full Mac dictation roundup.
Frequently asked questions
Is VoiceInk free?
The source code is free under GPL v3, so you can build VoiceInk yourself in Xcode at no cost. The ready-made app is a one-time purchase, listed from $25 for one Mac as of October 2026, with a free trial.
What is the difference between Gabble and VoiceInk?
VoiceInk is open source and sold as a one-time licence. Gabble is closed source for now and free to download. Feature sets overlap heavily: local Whisper and Parakeet models, a dictionary, per-app modes and optional AI cleanup.
Are both apps private?
Both transcribe on your Mac by default. VoiceInk can optionally send audio to a cloud transcription provider if you turn that on. Gabble has no cloud transcription, and its optional AI cleanup sends only transcript text.
Do Gabble and VoiceInk run on Intel Macs?
No. Both are for Apple Silicon Macs.
Can I audit Gabble's code like I can VoiceInk's?
Not at the moment. Gabble is closed source for now. If reading the source is a requirement, choose VoiceInk.
Which should I pick if I just want to try local dictation?
Try both. Gabble is a free download and VoiceInk has a free trial, so you can dictate the same work in each and keep the one that suits you.
Try Gabble
Free dictation for Mac that runs on your machine. No account.